Reverberations

News, Views, Rants and Raves About Technology and More

Yahoo! Messenger 7.5 comes with Ads

leave a comment »

I don’t really mind having ads in applications (Adobe Reader et al), but Yahoo! seems to have taken great ‘care’ to piss me off. New YM client has one big ad banner at bottom, totally obtrusive, distracting and unpleasant, and showing an absolutely useless eBay ad. And I, for one, don’t object to their bundling of Toolbar and Extras, and highjacking my homepage with YM install because I can choose to uncheck that.

I wholeheartedly ensured that I uninstall new YM client and install the old happy-to-live-with YM 7.0 instead. No YM8 beta for sure a(d)s of now.

[Update] Looks like there is a small registry hack to ‘fix’ these ads – just open regedit.exe, navigate to ‘HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ Software\ Yahoo\ pager\ YUrl‘ and create a new string key named Messenger Ad that has the value * (an asterisk). I haven’t tried this yet as I won’t be re-installing YM7.5.

Written by Brajesh

June 28, 2006 at 11:33 am

Posted in advertising, Desktop, Yahoo!

Leave a Reply

