Reverberations

News, Views, Rants and Raves About Technology and More

My Little Experiments with Google Search

leave a comment »

I’ve been doing little experiments with Google lately. This blog is up for little more than two weeks now, since I imported all posts from my old blog. That old blog used be #1 result for ‘Reverberations‘ ( #2 as of now) and ‘brajesh‘ ( eh! I do my share of egosurfing) on Google, probably because of my slashdot backlinks, though this blog has none yet. yahoo! has been less benevolent to me, but MSN been pretty favorable.

I acted link-conscious by linking this blog with ‘reverberations’ from the blogger and elsewhere. For the first week this blog was on the first page* in the results for ‘reverberations’ as well as ‘brajesh’ (*my default preference is 100 search results per page). But, by the second week, this blog surprisingly disappeared from first page. What’s happening here? I guess, it’s to do with some google algorithm for unnatural linking and/or Google Sandbox.

There are some other experiments I did with search engines, e.g. deliberate spelling mistakes, cross linking. I’ll write about them sometime later perhaps.

Links are the new (or not so new) currency of the Web. That is why Mike Arrington at TechCrunch can ask for contributions in exchange for linking back.

By the way, it looks like that there has been some major updates in Google PageRanks recently.

Written by Brajesh

February 19, 2006 at 5:16 pm

Posted in Google, Rant, Search

Leave a Reply

