Reverberations

News, Views, Rants and Raves About Technology and More

Persistent “Bad Request – Error 400″ when using Google Apps Mail

with 13 comments

Gmail for Google Apps sometimes throws “Bad Request – Error 400” after you have persistent session (chose to “Stay signed in” while logging in). I have 4-5 Gmail accounts which I’m usually logged in at the same time, and I get this “Bad Request – Error 400″ error on one of the accounts. I use Firefox as my main browser (because apparently Google Chrome cannot support even the latest CentOS 5.x with official repo and Chromium build is stuck at version 13 for CentOS 5)

Google suggests – “Clear your browser’s cache and cookies” which means I need to kill all my active sessions and sign in all 5 gmail accounts again, which is pretty unproductive.

By trial and error, I found the following solution for Firefox-

  1. Install an extension which allows you to view cookie information of a browser tab and selectively delete cookies (I use Web Developer)
  2. List all the cookies on “Bad Request – Error 400″ page (“View Cookie Information” on Web-developer extension)
  3. Delete the cookies which have long string values GMAIL_IMP. If you delete all the cookies, you may have to sign in to that account again, but usually deleting only some cookies works for me without needing to sign in again
  4. Refresh the browser tab which was showing  “Bad Request – Error 400″ and done.

[update: Rob identified the cookie to be deleted]

Written by Brajesh

July 17, 2012 at 6:14 am

Posted in Google, trick

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I found it was the cookie called GMAIL_IMP which caused me the problem – thanks for the tip!

    Rob Dupuis

    September 11, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    • Google is becoming annoying and evil. This is a major issue that everyone is experiencing and they don’t do anything about it. Is there a plugin like Web Developer for Chrome as well that you can suggest?

      Thanks

      Bruce

      September 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    • Search for mail.google.com cookies and delete the GMAIL_IMP cookie (or all mail.google.com cookies). Relogin, should be ok now.

      FSSDEV

      October 3, 2012 at 4:33 pm

      • You may also may need to delete accounts.google.com cookies too.

        FSSDEV

        October 3, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    • I have reported this issue to google via their business support team, so I’d be interested to see if people are experiencing this problem less. I believe I have seen an improvement in the last few weeks. I wrote this bookmarklet to delete the cookie in one click: https://gist.github.com/raw/4588976/fix_400.js

      Rob Dupuis

      January 21, 2013 at 8:30 pm

  2. Thanks for this – it helped!

    Lis

    October 3, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  3. Thanks! Deleting the GMAIL_IMP cookie worked for me.

    RobG

    November 20, 2012 at 10:31 am

  4. Thank you very much! Worked for me :)

    Charnita Fance

    February 17, 2013 at 9:32 pm

  5. Thanks, it helped here too

    wak bo kaya

    March 17, 2013 at 4:28 pm

  6. Thanks, surgical removal!

    dx

    March 17, 2013 at 9:57 pm

  7. [...] это 5-6 ящиков. Порыскав по сети, я нашёл следующее решение от некого Браджеша (далее — мой вольный [...]

  8. Thanx, Brajesh! Saved lots of nerves and time!
    I’ve translated it into Russian here: http://blog.victorov.me/2013/04/howto-remove-error-400-gapps-gmail/?lang=ru

    evictorov

    April 15, 2013 at 1:53 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

